The Massachusetts Chiefs of Police Association and Massachusetts Major City Chiefs and 13 other local law enforcement officials support Massachusetts fair and equal treatment for transgender people. That’s why they’re standing with a broad coalition across the state in opposition to a dangerous ballot measure that would repeal Massachusetts’ non-discrimination law protecting our transgender neighbors, family and friends from discrimination. Each of these law enforcement organizations and individuals affirms the importance of explicitly protecting transgender people from discrimination in public spaces, like hospitals, parks and hotels.

  • Amherst: Scott P Livingstone, Chief of Police
  • Boston: William B Evans, Police Commissioner
  • Brookline: Daniel C O’Leary, Chief of Police
  • Cambridge: Robert C. Haas, Police Commissioner
  • Lynn: Kevin Coppinger, Chief of Police
  • Medford: Leo E. Sacco, Jr., Chief of Police
  • Melrose: Michael L. Lyle, Chief of Police
  • Newton: Howard L. Mintz, Chief of Police
  • Northampton: Jody Kasper, Chief of Police
  • Salem: Mary Butler, Chief of Police
  • Somerville: David Fallon, Chief of Police
  • Swampscott: Ronald Madigan, Chief of Police
  • Worcester: Gary J Gemme, Chief of Police

Massachusetts Law Enforcement Letters to the State Legislature

The letters below were sent to Massachusetts state lawmakers calling for passage of legislation ensuring fair and equal treatment for transgender people in Massachusetts.